Gratitude: Day 13 and 14

Day 13: As summer heats up here, I am thankful for my hammock more and more everyday. When I first came to SA, I pondered about whether I should bring my Mexican hammock or not. It’s heavy and somewhat big, and I didn’t know if I would have a place to hang it. So I reluctantly left it at home, and regretted it as soon as I saw my exposed beams at site and felt the heat of an African summer.Fast forward a year, to my visit home last June. One of the first things I did was to dig through packed up stuff until I found my hammock, and it was priority number one on my packing list. I quickly hung it up in my room upon returning to site, and have used it a lot since then. It’s sooooo cool and relaxing, and when I have visitors, I sleep in it and let them have my bed (unless they REALLY want to sleep in it). When Tumi visited, I don’t think she got out of it for hours on end! 😉 I’ve spent so much time in it in the past week, since it’s gotten hot, and it’s been amazing.

Day 14: Even though it’s something almost every PCV in SA has, I am grateful to be at a site with electricity. I know some people romanticize the PC image of a night spent reading by candlelight, but this is the 21st century, and electricity is pretty standard for PCVs worldwide. That being said, I have spent some nights reading by candlelight. My electricity is far from stable, and high winds, rain, or nothing at all can knock it out for an undetermined amount of time. Regardless, I am very grateful to have electricity. I am glad I don’t have to stoke a fire to warm up water in the morning, or rely on paraffin to cook food. I’m glad I can turn my light on to battle bugs and other such critters, rather than fear the unknown in the dim candlelight. And I’m glad I usually don’t have to worry about knocking over my candle and setting my room on fire.

But I really do get a kick out of having a Laura-Ingalls-Wilder-esque candleholder, one with a handle to carry around with me. Oh Peace Corps!
-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

