Gratitude: Day 11 and 12

Day 11: I am very thankful for people who send me mail, especially care packages. Getting mail reminds me that people back home are thinking about me and want to support me. I love getting letters, though I don’t get them often enough. And a package is like Christmas, no matter what time of year it is. On rough days or weeks, mail is a bright spot and I always looking forward to checking for mail. I also love to send mail, so whenever I receive mail from someone, I breakout my postcards or letter writing supplies and get to work. If you’ve mailed me something and not received mail back, I was once operating under the assumption that you could put mail in the postboxes outside a post office, and it would be mailed. That’s not true, I found out too late. So a box in Vryburg certainly has a small depository of mail intended for my friends and family back home-sorry. Want to send me something? My mailing address and wishlist is right here, on my “Mailing Info” page. Just a hint, my birthday is in December and I LOVE cards! But don’t mail packages between Thanksgiving and Christmas, because nobody will be around to pick them up and they might disappear…

Day 12: I am thankful for rain. Yesterday it rained for hours on end and puddles even formed. It was glorious and cool, and it’s even still wet and humid today! Remember, I live on the edge of the Kalahari, so rain is a rare commodity. Often a rainstorm will come of fiercely and blow itself out in minutes, leaving a wet, sandy mess behind. So a nice day of rainfall was a true blessing, especially after the heat of last week. I adore the sweet smell of rain and throw my windows open to let the cool air in when it rains, and I’m sure my family thinks I’m nuts. That’s ok. Under a metal roof, the rain can be deafening at times, and it can knock the electricity out for seconds or hours. But still, I am always grateful for rain, even when I must walk through it to school.

But seriously, I love mail, so send me some. Ok, shameless begging over!
-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

