Another Day, Another Egg

The chicken's new nest.

The chicken’s new nest.

My host family has a whole bunch of chickens, but up until the last week, I had never seen eggs from these chickens. They are free-range, and wander all over the yard and often outside the yard, so I have no clue where they lay their eggs.

On Friday, I heard one of the chickens obnoxiously clucking and hollering right outside my door. I dealt with it for a few minutes, but the dang animal wouldn’t quiet down. So I opened my door to shoo it away when I noticed it sitting in the flowerpot. Since it’s winter, nothing is growing and the chicken was sitting in it, clucking away. I considered taking a picture because it made me laugh, but I scared the critter when I opened my door and it hopped out and scrambled away. That’s when I noticed there was an egg in the flowerpot. How strange! I left it there and my host Mom eventually came and got it.

Saturday I was in town all day, so I didn’t see an unusual chicken activity. On Sunday, I heard the loud squawking and looked through my keyhole. Sure enough, the chicken was in the flowerpot and when I opened my door and took a picture, it hopped off and left an egg behind.

After school on Monday, I glanced over at the flowerpot-another day, another egg!

It’ll be interesting to see if there’s one today. Odds are there will be. Seems the chicken has found a new nest. I wonder what will happen in spring when that pot has flowers in it again!
-Jen

The present the chicken left!

The present the chicken left!

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

