Spring is in the Air

A windy late winter day

A windy late winter day

This winter is SA has been difficult. Though I came last year in winter, I wasn’t here for the whole winter, and I lived in a somewhat warmer area and had a house that was built a little bit more solidly than the one I live in now. And I didn’t go from the insanely hot SAfrican summer to the freezing cold SAfrican winter (seemingly overnight).

Now, it’s August. Overnight on the first, it got incredibly winter. Why? Because August is the windy month, and the winds apparently weren’t playing by African Time this year. So while it’s still chilly/downright cold overnight, it usually warms up quite a bit during the day. I’m starting to get a tan because I can finally wear short sleeves while working in the garden. Layering is my best friend!

This morning, I was enjoying a second cup of coffee after making some delicious French toast, sitting in my bed and enjoying the sunlight streaming through my window. Then I noticed the birds were singing. There aren’t a whole lot of birds around here, as there aren’t a whole lot of trees. So when I heard the unusual sound of singing birds, I realized Spring is in the air. September 1 marks the start of Spring, so I’ve almost survived.

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

