America is….

….a whole lot of things.  Here is how I am currently feeling about our wonderful country.

1. Exhausting.  Now, I probably am suffering a little from jet lag, but dang this country is exhausting!  There are so many things to look at and do everywhere that I am just beat!  I went to a mall and to Target a few days ago, and by the end my head hurt, my eyes were aching, and I zonked out in the car on the way home.  There are just too many things to see in these massive stores!

2. Too busy.  Y’all are just too busy.  Seriously.  Take a breath and enjoy the non-sand-filled-air.

3. Humid but not hot.  I forgot what humidity was. I remember now.  It’s not so fun, but overall the weather is fine.  It hit 100 yesterday, which everyone was complaining about.  I didn’t think it was too hot though, just too humid.  Nothing will seem hot again after a South Africa summer.

4. Full of good food.  Pizza, bagels, fried pickles, ranch, green bean casserole, sweet corn, burgers, chicken strips, Chinese, Sour Cream and Cheddar chips, oreos…etc etc.  Soooo much good food!  I will miss it.

5. Confusing.  Why are you driving on the wrong side of the road?  Why are you looking at me funny?  Why do you need 500 choices of peanut butter at Walmart?  But seriously, why are you driving on the wrong side of the road?!

6. Disposable.  Too many things here are frivolous and disposable.  Watching people eat in restaurants bothers me because so much is wasted.  And I am stunned with how many good, nice things y’all throw away.  I am used to using things over and over again, not wasting anything, and not having access to disposable items ever, so it’s a shock to remember how disposable American society is.

7. Understandable.  Everyone speaks English here.  It’s amazing.  Though my English skills are degrading so I am often confusing my family.  And I confused everyone when I ordered “wahtah” today at Pizza Hut. Oops.  Some of my South African English has been internalized pretty well.

8. Sanitary.  Eish, it’s nice to be somewhere where sanitation has real meaning again.  Though Americans are a little TOO anal about some things!

I’m definitely facing some reverse culture shock, even more than I expected.  I thought the First World in PTA in SA was pretty much America, but it’s not.  It’s still a different culture and a different country, and now I have to figure out life in America again.  Err…the USA.  🙂

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

