Ke a Tla, America!

I am coming, America!  (Just a taste of the South African English I’ve picked up in the last year)

 

Sooo, Saturday I am flying to America.  AMERICA!  I still am not sure I believe it.  My mind hasn’t fully accepted the idea, and it’ll be interesting to see the amount of “reverse culture shock” I’ll go through in the next two weeks.

 

In case you were wondering, NO I am NOT leaving PC.  I am simply going on a visit home.  And I am excited!  Normal food, family, friends, the Fourth of July, driving on the right side of the road, doggies, trees, bodies of water…..it’s gonna be a good trip.

 

I am a little concerned because I have very much adapted to the “slower lifestyle” of SA and haven’t been planning as much.  My method of packing was dumping stuff in my suitcase and zipping it up, so I am intrigued to see what I actually packed.  I used to be so anal about such things, and now I’m like “eehhhhh ga gona mathata-there is no problem”.  Why should packing be so stressful?  I don’t understand all these American attitudes anymore.

 

I also am very used to sitting around doing nothing.  Sometimes, I watch my floor dry after mopping.  I also wait for HOURS for transport.  I waited 2.5 hours waiting for a kombi to fill up today.  What did I do during that time?  Watched people outside the kombi.  For 2.5 hours.  Then I sat and watched the landscape for 5 hours on the ride.  It actually was not boring.  But my American family will probably think I’m crazy or have been taken by Body Snatchers because I used to be so impatient.  PC really forces you to be patient.

 

Anyways, I have some last minute errands to run, and possibly some prank souvenirs to buy.  Ohhhhh it’s gonna be a fun trip home.  I am hoping that the mealie meal (which is used to make pap) bag does not rip on the flight, because mealie meal is a white powder.  I also just realized I forgot my pap-making tools (hmmm maybe I should have been more methodical with packing…naahhh) so I hope the store has some.  It’s SA, they will.  Who am I kidding?

 

Eish, but seriously, I am really excited for this trip, but I can’t quite convince myself that I am actually going.  I also wish the linguistic part of my brain would remember American English, but that doesn’t seem likely.

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

2 thoughts on “Ke a Tla, America!

Leave a Reply

