Dressing for Success

It’s amazing the things I can wear that people think look “so nice”. For example, today I thought I looked a little like a bum. I had on black leggings and a gray knee-length skirt that I had found in the PC ‘sharing closet’. This means that a previous PCV has probably worn, handwashed, and stained this skirt for two years. I actually wear it backwards because the front has a stain that would be too obvious. On top, I wore an orange shirt that is fairly new. However, a few minutes before I left for school, I noticed two stains front-and-center on my chest. I tried to wipe them off with a wet rag, but knew that wouldn’t suffice. So rather than change my shirt, I grabbed a necklace which would distract from my stains, put on the matching earrings, then decided to wear a beaded bracelet that I bought on my last vacation. Since it was cold, I tossed on a crème-coloured cardigan that I bought in December. It isn’t doing well with handwashing, so it is pilly and kind of hangs funny. Finally, I slipped on my old-lady Mary Jane shoes. I bought these two years ago after my knee surgery, because they were “easy to walk in”. I’ve worn them significantly since, so they are starting to show their age. Because they are black, no matter how often I polish them, the second I step out of the house they are covered in pale-red-sand-dust. I ran a comb through my hair and pinned my bangs up, and dashed out the door to walk with my host sister to school.

As soon as we started walking, she said “You look SO very nice today.”

I laughed. Dirty clothes, messy hair, no makeup, and already covered in Kalahari sand…and I look so very nice. On the days I try to look nice, I usually don’t get any compliments. 🙂
-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

One thought on “Dressing for Success

Leave a Reply

