Elephant Walks and Tricky Monkeys

An elephant begging for some pumpkin during the feeding session.

An elephant begging for some pumpkin during the feeding session.

After Mossel Bay, we headed down the coast a bit more to a nice town called Wilderness. Upon entering the town, I said “This doesn’t look like wilderness…” which prompted the reply “Yes it does. See, there are trees!” It was a lot more urban that I expected, but we stayed at the Wilderness Beach House, which is near the beach and tucked into a wooded area-nice and secluded. Our second floor dorm room gave us a stunning view of the ocean, straight from my bed. I never actually went to the beach here though!

We decided to drive down the coast to Knysna (nice-na) the next morning, so we did not spend a whole lot of time in Wilderness. Knysna had a lot of neat places to shop and whatnot, so we spent a bit of time there checking out all the local crafts.

We went to the Elephant Sanctuary near Knysna, and then Monkeyland to eat. The Elephant Sanctuary was cool. We didn’t opt for the elephant back rides ($$$) but we did the normal tour. I got to walk hand-in-trunk through the woods with en elephant, pet one, see some tricks, and feed the. It was fun, and now I think elephants may be the coolest animals ever! One girl got splattered by some fresh elephant dung, so I’m not sure she was too happy with it all. 🙂

At Monkeyland, Genna and I just decided to stay in their restaurant and observation area, rather than pay for the tour. Sue and Katie went on the tour, so Genna and I grabbed some ice cream and went out onto the deck to enjoy it.

Now, the deck is not separated from the monkeys at all. Soon a little squirrel monkey came to sniff out our tables, as we were eating the ice cream. He came really close so we took some pictures. The monkey decided he wanted my ice cream, so right after Genna took a picture, he launched himself at my Magnum Bar and grabbed it with his monkey paws! I hollered and waved him off, then the guides who were waiting for the next tour chased him off by squirting him with water.

And yes, I at the rest of my ice cream, after wiping off his monkey paw prints. He later tried to steal my bag of souvenirs, and we had a literally tug of war over my bag, which I thankfully won. Monkeys are tricky!

It was about this time in the trip where we began to see “Don’t feed the baboon” signs on the side of the road, and we had a least two hordes of baboons run out in front of our car! They are the deer of SA.

-Jen

One of the elephants showing off its trick-shaking its head.

One of the elephants showing off its trick-shaking its head.

Me and a monkey, right before he attempts to steal my ice cream.

Me and a monkey, right before he attempts to steal my ice cream.

Ahhh Africa is so beautiful

Ahhh Africa is so beautiful

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

2 thoughts on “Elephant Walks and Tricky Monkeys

  1. There are some wild monkeys near (though not in) my village. I become excited every time I see them, but South Africans are always like: “they’re awful. They will steal your things and beat you up.”

Leave a Reply

