Beach Laziness

The beautiful Indian Ocean

The beautiful Indian Ocean

After Oudtshoorn we headed south and east, with the Indian Ocean as our destination. Mossel Bay was the next shop on our vacation, and we stayed at the Santos Express. It is a backpackers that is in an old train parked on the beach. Great location! We stayed in the dorm, which had 16 beds and sadly was a little gross. The private rooms looked nicer, which were old sleeper cars that had real beds installed in them. I was super excited to stay here, but it was a letdown. 😦

As soon as we got to Mossel Bay, we hopped into our swimsuits and made it down to the beach. The water was chilly, but very nice and incredibly clear.

The next day we spent shopping around in the downtown area. Mossel Bay is a harbor town with a pretty touristy area, but it’s not super touristy. We also checked out the Bartolomeu Dias Museum, which focused on the Southern African sea explorers and their impact on the area. In the museum complex is the old Post Tree, which had a postal drop that is still used. I mailed a few things from the oldest post office in Africa, and those postcards will get a special postmark…cool! 🙂 I wish I had more stamps though.

We returned to the backpackers and spent the rest of the day being beach bums. Oh how lovely vacation is! We found out that burying someone in sand is an American thing, and got too many crazy looks when Katie and I got buried. I also made a friend with a little African girl who was super interested in my sand castle building. She came to “help”…and my sand castle was destroyed. At least she was a cutie!

I enjoyed a few peaceful morning beach walks, and found some shells for the kids in my host family. It was really nice to relax for a few days!

-Jen

Mailing a postcard to my sister at the oldest post office in Africa!

Mailing a postcard to my sister at the oldest post office in Africa!

Me wandering on the beach

Me wandering on the beach

The cute girl who “helped” me with my sand castle.

My shadow along the awesome Indian Ocean beach

My shadow along the awesome Indian Ocean beach

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

One thought on “Beach Laziness

Leave a Reply

