Braai

On Thursday I was at the school that is 5km, let’s call it X-ville Primary. I have felt very welcome at this school, and the primarily female teaching staff has taken me in as one of their own. The staff room I am in has the Intermediate Phase teachers (Grades 4-6)-the three that are not the Head of Department/Deputy Principal. Since it’s a small group, I have fit right in pretty well. Which is awesome. As the school day was winding down, one of the teachers came up to me and asked if I wanted to stay and braai to celebrate a few staff birthdays. After insuring I would have a ride home, I said yes. Who wants to turn down an opportunity to braai?!

Braai is SA’s version of BBQ. It’s done outside, over a wood fire, and the meat is seasoned in one delicious way or another. They had some sort of beef steak and sausages, which they braaied. Along with that we had pap and “gravy”-a tomato and onion sauce, which is yummy. I may make some for dinner tonight.

Anyways, we got the fire started, and I helped to chop up some veggies for the gravy. And my thumb…but that’s not unusual. I thought for sure it would rain on our braai, as the wind had picked up and clouds were rolling in fast. I could hear thunder, and literally see it raining off in the distance. However, it stayed dry, and we had some delicious braai right before darkness fell. One of my teacher’s drove me home right as it was getting dark. My family had wondered where I was, but they seemed excited that I had gotten to braai. I was happy as my tummy was quite full of delicious food. 🙂

So, the lesson is to never turn down an opportunity to braai. Not only was it yummy, it seemed to make me fit right in with all the women at my school!

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

