I Walk Through the Bush to Get to Work

Today was my first day at the school as a PCV! I went to only one of my schools today, the one which is closest to me. I actually walked with my younger host siblings, who are in Grade 4 and 5. It’s only a ten minute walk, more or less, and I can almost see my school from my home. Nice and easy, nee?

My other school is another story. It is on the opposite end of my village, about 5 km away from my home. A fairly long walk, which is why I shall be getting a bike. My supervisor drove me to it today, and I literally have a good 10-15 minute walk through the bush (veld) to get to my school. No houses in sight, just a twisting dirt road through thorny bushes and short trees. It’s almost like that school is in another village because there is literally nothing to see for a while, then suddenly there are houses and my school.

How cool is that though-I get to walk through the bush to get to work. I really am in Africa!

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

