I Use My Umbrella in the Sun

Sine Spring has officially arrived in SA, it has been getting hotter by the day. Being in the sunshine is just a brutal, sweatful experience from the get go. I mean, it’s been above 30C the past few days, which makes walking anywhere a chore.

And this is just the beginning!

Like any normal South African, I bought an umbrella. Not for the rain, though it may eventually be used in the rain. But for now it is my sunbrella-and I like it! Portable shade! I used it today for the first time and it was nice. I think it will be an essential part of my life here.

Just another one of those ever-present differences between America and SA.

Oh, I got a quill from the porcupine Victor hit with his truck a few weeks ago. It’s probably 10 inches long. I tell you this porcupine was HUGE! Perhaps I will find a picture to share, though I don’t think I have one on my camera.

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

