I Left the Tar Roads Back in Ganyesa

So, it is time to tell a bit more about my little village.  The nearest large town in Ganyesa, which is supposed to have around 50,000 people in it.  There is a grocery store or two, some places to buy clothes, and just about everything I will need, which is nice.  That means instead of traveling about 85km to my shopping town to get food, I can go about 30km out to get whatever I need-which is awesome.  However, that is where the tar roads stop.

From Ganyesa to my village there are only dirt roads, roads which might have had gravel 15 years ago, or possibly off the road completely. The villagers in my area rioted last year to get a tar road into my village and the surrounding ones, and after evacuating some PCVs (precautionary) and burning up some schools, the villagers won.  So now there is a massive construction project to build the tar road, which may or may not be done before I leave in 2013.  Such is life.  So there are many detours, one which actually left us rolling through the bush off the road completely.  That’s a classic PC/Africa moment.

Untarred roads are NOT fun to travel on.  I believe that if a baby went on a kombie on a dirt road, they would have shaken baby syndrome.  Seriously.  It’s jarring, bumpy, hot, squished inside a overfilled taxi-this is my mode of transportation.  It’s safe, but not fun.  However, it’s only about 20-30 minutes until we reach the tarred road, so it could be worse.  And I will have fun taxi stories to tell at the end of two years!

So, please, come visit!  But bring some tarred roads with you!

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

One thought on “I Left the Tar Roads Back in Ganyesa

  1. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Bloom | Growing in Faith

Leave a Reply

