Patience

If you ever consider being a PCV, or even just applying to PC, make sure you’re a patient person!  Of course we all expect to wait during the long application, continually checking our emails for an update from PC.  And even after we get invited, we wait for updates, staging info, and of course, our day of departure.  But guess what, once you get to your country, you still must wait.  You must wait for an endless amount of vaccinations, tea breaks, your one free day a week, walkaround allowance, field trips…and of course, site announcements!  We get our site announcements in six days and I am just about out of patience!  I think all of us are.  Pretty much the single biggest announcement for PC, and I just want to KNOW!

So, next time I get internet I shall know where I’m going.  I won’t publish the town/village name due to security, but I will know what type of school I’ll be teaching in, which province, and potentially what type of work I may actually be doing.  Though I won’t really know that til I’m settled in at site a few months down the road. 🙂

Right after site announcements we head off for a week-to have a supervisor’s workshop with our school(s) principal(s) and then for a four day site visit.  So the next few weeks are super exciting, but will likely go really fast.  Then it’s the end of PST-crazy!!  Time flies when you’re at PST.  I’m not sure when I’ll get online again, but hopefully next weekend before I leave for the workshop and the site visit.  Just know that I’m happy and well and can’t wait to find out where I will live for the next two years!!   And if you really like me, check out the”mailing info” tab for suggestions for packages.  🙂

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

