One Month….Really?!

8/8/2011

I have been in South Africa for a month.  I have been in South Africa for a month?!?!  Wow!  Time sure does fly!  Yet at the same time, I have come so far in a month.  It’s incredible.

We had our midterm Language Proficiency Interview (LPI) today, and it seemed to go well.  I won’t get the results for a few days, but I talked about quite a few things for awhile, so I consider it successful.  And it’s a formal assessment, so when I get the results I can at least know what I need to do before the end of PST.  I do know that I need to be speaking in Setswana more.  It’s hard with a limited vocabulary though.

Tomorrow is Women’s Day, which is a national holiday.  Most schools were out for today and tomorrow, a nice four day weekend.  We had a half day of training-language then the LPIs.  The day was gorgeous and I sat outside for a few hours (waiting on my LCF, but that’s another story).  I am a little surprised I didn’t wind up sunburned, but I think I probably tanned a bit.  In winter!  I still get a kick out of the winter weather here.  Though it’s warming up considerably in the daytime-easily in the 20s Celsius.  I need to find a converter so I can begin to understand the temps here.  Someone did pass this along: 30 is hot, 20 is nice, 10 is cold, and 0 is ice.  For the 20s that seems to be spot on thus far!

Time for bed.  Goodnight world! Tomorrow should be a blog-blitz when I post these all in Pretoria!

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

One thought on “One Month….Really?!

Leave a Reply

