Camping

So, a week before I leave for South Africa, what do I do?  I go camping for 4 days.  A kind of nice escape from reality, but reality is fast approaching.  However, since I was a young child, my family has camped.  My first camping trip involved my grandparent’s farm, a tent, and a crazed wild turkey/pheasant visit in the wee hours of the morning.

As time has evolved, my family has moved from a tent, to a pop-up camper, to a 70s motorhome, back to a tent, and finally to a pretty sweet RV-all tricked out.  Now, camping with a flatscreen TV (although small), AC, and a full dining room table may seem a little removed from nature, but it is a nice escape from packing. 🙂 And I can easily escape to my hammock slung between two trees if I want to relax outdoors.

The 60-70 mph winds and severe thunderstorm last night were not fun.  Luckily, we had a TV and could keep an eye on things.  🙂  A tent would not work out in those weather conditions.

Anyways, since I am camping and thus on my last vacation before SA, I will not be giving daily facts.  I had to drive to town and chill at a coffeehouse for the WiFi.  But I love coffee, so it was worth the rather short trip.

I am also getting a bit used to being more exposed to the elements, critters, and lack of constant internet (which is kind of nice, actually).

So, adios for a few days, as I enjoy a few last relaxing days before I begin the “toughest job I’ll ever love.”

Oh boy, I leave in 8 day. EIGHT DAYS!

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

One thought on “Camping

  1. Jen, I am very excited and happy for your assignment in South Africa. You will learn so much. I hope you get on alright with your 18 hour plane ride. Anyways wishing you all the best on your journey to the southern hemisphere. I’ll be an avid reader of your blog.

Leave a Reply

