A Tale of Three Capitals

South Africa is unique in many ways, and the fact that three cities act as capitals is one such eccentricity.  Cape Town, Pretoria, and Bloemfontein all are considered capitals of SA.  The government has three branches, like the US government: legislative, judicial, and executive.  Each of the three cities serve as a capital for one branch: Pretoria is the executive capital, Bloemfontein is the judicial capital, and Cape Town is the legislative capital.

Johannesburg, despite popular belief, is not the capital of South Africa.  It is the largest city though.

Random interjection, but I think I hear an ice cream truck outside.  Odd.

Edit: It was an ice cream truck, playing “The Entertainer.”



About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

2 thoughts on “A Tale of Three Capitals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s