Father’s Day

Yesterday was Father’s Day, and it will be one of the last holidays I celebrate in the USA and with my family for awhile.  I leave for staging July 5th, so the 4th of July will be my last holiday.  But since we will either be camping or visiting extended family, it was nice to have one last holiday at home.  And a great day to celebrate my amazing Dad, who is always there for me, and will be while I’m in South Africa.  I (with Mom’s help) made him breakfast-yum!!  We found some funfetti pancake mix, and it was delicious and festive.

Anyways, obviously going away from home for two years means I will miss a lot.  Some of it I expect: Christmases, birthdays, vacations, holidays, the wedding of an awesome friend and sorority sister, my sister’s graduation, etc.  Others  I pray don’t happen but might: deaths, primarily.  When I decided to become a PCV, I knew I would have to miss some milestones in the lives of my friends and family.  It’s not a fun reality, but it’s part of being a PCV.  Anyone who considers going into the PC has to think long and hard about how we will handle being away, as I did when I began applying.  I will have to find new ways to celebrate things with my family, and ways to celebrate while I’m in SA.  I am looking forward to learning about new traditions and celebrations in SA, and bringing those home to share with my friends and family at the end of service.  So while I do have to leave things behind, I have the opportunity to embrace new things as well.

I’m just going to have to remember to send my Father’s Day card a long while in advance. 😉

-Jen

About Jen Lamos

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Gardener. Keeper of Chickens. Daughter of God.

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day

  1. So, don’t hate me because I am obviously waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay behind in reading your blog, but awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, I’m so sad you’re going to miss my wedding but I know you will be having an AMAZING time in SA! Maybe we can Skype you in 😉

Leave a Reply

