Radios and Zulu

I got my shortwave radio in the mail a few days ago.  It’s SWEET!  It tunes into AM, FM, TV frequencies, weather radio, and 4 shortwave bands.  Now, I’m not a radio brainiac, so I’m not 100% sure about all the features, but my Dad is and he said this would be perfect!  So I’ve been fiddling with it, and I love it. 🙂  It runs off of electricity or batteries, but it also has a hand crank and a solar panel.  So no matter what my electricity situation is in SA, it will work.  And provide endless hours of entertainment.  Other PCVs say that a shortwave radio is a priceless item because it provides music, entertainment, and even news.  Considering I won’t have a TV, it’ll be good to have.  Anyways, here’s a picture, and where I got it from: http://www.survivalunlimited.com/radios/ka009.htm

On another note, I’ve been working through the Zulu guide that PC provided.  I’m working on the introductions and whatnot so I can at least say some stuff when I get in the country.  Now that I’ve figured out most of the pronunciation, it’s getting easier to figure out things.  I might actually be able to learn this now. 🙂

My graduation/going-away party is on Saturday.  It’ll be a nice chance to say adios to friends and family.  If you wanna come, let me know and I’ll get you the deets.

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

