Packing, Part 2

So, in an attempt to write things down and organize my life/packing list, I’m gonna post it!

Lightweight wool coat

Fleece jacket

Waterproot jacket

3 sets long underwear

Socks

sun hat

Swimsuit

1 belt

2 pairs dress pants

1 pair dress shorts-knee length

4 skirts

1 nice dress

7 button down shirts

4 t-shirts

3 tank tops

2 pairs casual pants-jeans, etc

Tights x2

Bras and undies

Cotton half slips (knee length)

2 pairs dress shoes

Tennis shoes

Flip-flops

Two pairs of glasses, and 1 pair of sunglasses

Prescription drugs (bring a three-month supply to last until the Peace Corps can reorder them)

Two towels (to have during training)

1 set of sheets-flat/queen

Sleeping bag liner

pillowcase

Stationery and envelopes to last during the 8 to 10 weeks of pre-service training

Watch

Reliable alarm clock

Money belt that fits under your clothes

Small sewing kit

Shortwave radio

Digital camera

Swiss army knife and 3 inch blade

Rechargeable batteries

Water bottle Pictures of hometown, family, and friends

U.S. stamps (letters can often be mailed by people traveling back home)

Maps of the United States, world, and Iowa

Hand crank flashlight

2 books, plus kindle

Journal

Decks of cards and card games

Work gloves

Screw driver

Hammer

Duck tape

Hair straightener

Netbook

Nail clippers

Tweezers

Mirror

Razor

Tooth stuff

Feminine items

Minimal toiletries (I refuse to haul around the world those things I can easily buy in SA)

Ipod!

Calculator

USB drives

Seeds: Parsley, Cilantro, Dill, Rosemary, Chives, and Oregano

Bible

I still have to get a few things, and my luggage, but I’ve gotten most of my stuff so far!  With special thanks to my Dad, Mom, and Sister for their contributions!

I still think I will only use my backpack as my carryon, and an upright suitcase with a smallish duffel.  I’m trying not to overpack, but I’m sure some stuff will be added to the list, as I am forgetful.  And I need to make sure it all fits in my luggage, though it’s looking pretty good! 🙂

I’m also attempting to download my language guide materials onto my kindle, so I can read/listen to it more easily.  And hopefully learn something about the language prior to going.  Hopefully!

-Jen

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

2 thoughts on “Packing, Part 2

  1. Yeah, I need to convert the sound files to mp3, but that’s my project for tomorrow. I’m also downloading all the PC instructional/teaching guides on the toolkit website to my kindle. Saves paper and I’ll have it if the internet isn’t working.

Leave a Reply

