All those lasts

In my last 40 days before I leave for staging, there are a LOT of things to do, and a lot of preparation for the next 2 years.  I’ve been busy going through all my stuff, and I’ve donated a surprising amount to Goodwill.  I have 2.5 totes ready to go, and that’s after the 3 boxes and a tote I took last week.  It’s kind of nice to purge all my stuff, and store only the essentials.  I hope to have everything I’m saving stowed in my (very tiny) closet at home, other than the furniture. I’m 100% certain I’ll make that goal!  And it’s nice that I can give my stuff to be reused-sustainability at it’s best! 🙂

I’ve been thinking about those things I want to do before I leave.  I know I’ll be missing a lot of stuff from home when I’m gone, as I did when I went to Mexico.  But I have a fair amount of time say goodbye to Iowa.  Here’s my list thus far!

Eat at Graham’s Dairy Freeze (let’s be real….like 10 more times!)

Visit friends in Pella and eat some Dutch letters

Go camping

Take all 3 doggies to the bark park (when Cooper comes from Texas)

Ride along the bike trails with Dad

Go to El Rancho Grande-yum

Go to the Dutchman’s store

Go to the Osky library and get some books about SA (cuz the library here sucks)

Have fried pickles with Dad and Megan at the redneck bar

Plant our mini-garden with Mom

Go to Holiday Lake and visit the Arnold side of the family

Fireworks with Meg for the 4th

Pack…and pack…and then repack

If you wanna join me on any of this, just let me know!  And if you need the deets about my graduation party, give me an email. Considering I just now thought of this list, I think it’s going pretty good.  But now I’m hungry for a chocolate-marshmallow shake.  Too bad it is doing the whole torrential rain thing now…for like the third day in a row.  I will be happy for some drier weather in SA, even if it is winter!

Now, on to more sorting through stuff to give away.

About Jen Daugherty

Christ follower. Writer. Permaculturist. RPCV. Photographer. Real Food Eater. Daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

